KCJ-Topband-Contest [CW | 160]

The 39 th KCJ Top Band Contest Rules
Your Log Submission is Indispensable.

1. Name of Contest: The 39th KCJ Top Band Contest.

2. Period: Starts 1200 UTC February 11, 2023. Ends 1200 UTC February 12, 2023.

3. Categories and codes:
C18: Single Operator
CP: Single Operator QRP
CM: Multi Operator
DX: Station overseas
CL: Check Log
Any kind of assistance for station operations for a category of Single Operator
is prohibited. However, you may use “QSO finding assistance” such as, but not
limited to, DX cluster, CW skimmer, Reverse Beacon Network and so on.
A QRP station must run the output power of five (5) watts or lower.

4. Frequency: 160-Meter
Please follow your band plan.
JA stations: 1801 -1820kHz
1820 -1825kHz: JA stations are able to respond running DX stations.

5. Mode: CW.

6. Exchange:
JA: RST plus Prefecture/district code (e.g., 599 TK)
DX: RST plus CQ Zone number (e.g., 599 03)

7. Point: All logs will be collated with each other and each complete contact counts
points as follows.
For JA: one (1) point for a contact with JA, two (2) points with DX
For DX: two (2) points for a contact with JA, one (1) point with others.
When logs of other stations you contacted are not submitted, those contacts do not

8. Multipliers For JA: Each prefecture/district and CQ Zone worked
For DX: Each prefecture/district in JA worked
QSO data are cross-checked each other and coincidence QSO counts points.

9. Scoring: Multiplying total points by total multipliers

10. Log instructions:
Cabrillo file format or JARL file format are recommended.
a. Each entry must be accompanied by summary sheet showing all scoring information,
name and street-address of a participant.
b. A QSO data should contain date, time, band, call sign and exchanges both sent and
c. JA must log the time of QSO in JST and DX in UTC.
d. Output power must be described in the log of category QRP.
e. Names of all operators must be described in the log of the category Multi Operator.

11. Log submission
a. Web upload of logs is available at https://www.kcj-cw.com/contest/?DX
b. Logs in Cabrillo format may be submitted directly to the following e-mail address:
2023toptest(a)kcj-cw.com (a) must be replaced with @.
Be sure to put your call sign in the subject line of your e-mail.
c. Paper logs may be mailed to
Takayuki Nakamura, #904, 4-6-5 Nyoidani Minoh-City Osaka, 562-0011, Japan

12. Log Deadline: 1500 UTC February 27, 2023

13. Releasing Results: Results of Contest will appear at KCJ Web site on the first day of
KCJ informs URL and the results of the cross checking to participants who described
his/her e-mail address.
Preliminary results will be sent in early March, and the final results will be sent in late March
and announced on the KCJ Web site at the same time.
In the e-mail in late March, the final results, certificates (for prize winners only), participation
certificates and the URL to obtain the KCJA will be included.
Please download the certificates and awards from the noticed Web site in the e-mail.
If you do not receive an e-mail by March 31, please contact the following address:

14. Awards: Certificates will be awarded to several high rank entrants and the top in each
prefecture/district for JA and the top of each entity.
The number of the stations to be awarded depends on the number of participants.
Awards for SWL follow the same policy.

15. The Certificate of Participation: KCJ proves the participation of entrants in KCJ Contest
with this certificate in which your call sign, name, score and rank appear.

16. KCJCA: KCJ issues the award KCJCA (Keymen’s Club of Japan Contest Award) for the
achievement of working many Japanese prefectures/districts.

17. Prohibition: Two or more simultaneous signals for a single operator
Two or more operation positions for multi operator
Two or more signals on a band for multi operator

18. Disqualification: Participants are expected to follow laws of each country and
the KCJ Contest rules. KCJ contest committee makes the final decision to disqualify
a violator.

19. Appeal: If you have any objections to the provisional rankings, please email us with your
concrete evidence to 39top-qstn(a)kcj-cw.com within 5 days of the release
announcement.(replace (a) with @)

Japanese Prefecture/District codes

1. Area 1 (for JA1 through JS1, 7J1 and 7K1-7N4)
CB: Chiba GM: Gumma IB: Ibaraki KN: Kanagawa
MT: Minamitorishima OG: Ogasawara ST: Saitama TG: Tochigi
TK: Tokyo YN: Yamanashi

2. Area 2 (for JA2 through JS2)
AC: Aichi GF: Gifu ME: Mie SO: Shizuoka

3. Area 3 (for JA3 through JS3)
G: Hyogo KT: Kyoto NR: Nara OS: Osaka
SI: Shiga WK: Wakayama

4. Area 4 (for JA4 through JS4)
HS: Hiroshima OY: Okayama SN: Shimane TT: Tottori
YG: Yamaguchi

5. Area 5 (for JA5 through JS5)
EH: Ehime KA: Kagawa KC: Kochi TS: Tokushima

6. Area 6 (for JA6 through JS6)
FO: Fukuoka KG: Kagoshima KM : Kumamoto MZ: Miyazaki
NS Nagasaki ON: Okinawa OT: Oita SG: Saga

7. Area 7 (for JA7 through JS7)
AM :Aomori AT: Akita FS: Fukushima IT: Iwate
MG: Miyagi YM: Yamagata

8. Area 8 (for JA8 through JS8)
HD: Hidaka HY: Hiyama IR: Iburi IS: Ishikari
KK: Kamikawa KR: Kushiro NM: Nemuro OH: Okhotsk
OM: Oshima RM: Rumoi SB: Shiribeshi SC: Sorachi
SY: Soya TC: Tokachi

9 Area 9 (for JA9 through JS9)
FI: Fukui IK: Ishikawa TY: Toyama

10. Area 0 (for JA0 through JS0)
NI: Niigata NN: Nagan0

Leave a reply